San Diego County CERT: Community Emergency Response Team

What Is CERT?Local government prepares for everyday emergencies. However, during a disaster, the number and scope of incidents can overwhelm conventional emergency services. The Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) program is an all-risk, all-hazard training. This valuable course is designed to help you protect yourself, your family, your neighbors, and your neighborhood in an emergency situation.CERT is a positive and realistic approach to emergency and disaster situations where citizens may initially be on their own and their actions can make a difference. While people will respond to others in need without the training, one goal of the CERT program is to help them do so effectively and efficiently without placing themselves in unnecessary danger.In the CERT training, citizens learn to: •Manage utilities and put out small fires •How to open airways, control bleeding, treating for shock, and providing medical aid •Search for and rescue victims safely •Organize themselves and spontaneous volunteers to be effective •Collect disaster intelligence to support first responder effort  
HHOW DO I JOIN CERT?

Contact your local CERT manager. Jurisdictions with existing teams are listed below. If you don’t see your city or community on the list, please contact your nearest fire department and ask the Fire Chief when/if they plan to start a CERT program in your neighborhood.Go to page top
CERT Programs Alpine 
Shane Ozbirn
619-490-9074
sozbirn@alpinefire.org

Borrego Springs
Craig Cavanaugh
858-414-0147
craig101212@icloud.comCarlsbad
David Harrison
760-931-2137
david.harrison@carlsbadca.gov

Chula Vista
Hugo Bermudez
619-921-2564
hbermudez@chulavistaca.gov

Coronado
Ruthie Glorioso 
619 522-2497
rglorioso@coronado.ca.us

De Luz 
Mike Manchor
760-728-3300
rexranch@att.net

Deer Springs
Marc Weissman
760-525-5170
marcweissman11@gmail.com

Del Mar
Joel Carrington
858-755-1522
jcarrington@delmar.ca.us 

East County 
(El Cajon, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, and Santee)
Andy McKellar
619-667-1471
amckellar@heartlandfire.net

Elfin Forest
Mary (Mickey) Cross
760-744-2034
mickeykc@juno.comEncinitas 
(includes Leucadia, Olivenhain, and Cardiff)
Arnie Lewin
760-633-2800
alewin@encinitasca.gov

Escondido 
Jeff Murdock
760-839-5406
jmurdock@ci.escondido.ca.us

Imperial Beach
John French
619-423-8223
jfrench@cityofib.org

Inland Valley 
Paul Nysen
760-742-1631
paul.nysen@netgear.com

Lakeside
Josh Wilson
619-390-2350
cert@lakesidefire.com

National City
Walter Amedee
619-336-4556
cert@nationalcityca.gov

North County 
(Bonsall, Fallbrook and Rainbow)
Patty Koch
760-723-2010
pkoch@ncfire.org

Oceanside
Rhonda Deniston
760-435-4305
oceansidecert@ci.oceanside.ca.us

Palomar Mountain
Bill Leininger
760-807-6923
William.M.Leininger@gmail.com

Poway
Susy Turnbull
858-668-4483
sturnbull@poway.org

Ramona
Joseph Thompson
760-788-2222
joseph.thompson@fire.ca.gov

Rancho Santa Fe 
Troy Duncan and Kyle Carranza
858-756-6011
Duncan@rsf-fire.org and Carranza@rsf-fire.org

San Diego County Fire Authority  – Southern Division
(Barrett Junction, Boulevard, Campo, Carveacre, Deerhorn Valley, Dehesa, Descanso, Dulzura, Guatay, Harbison Canyon, Jamul, Japatul Valley, Jacumba, Lake Morena, Mountain Empire, Mt. Laguna, Otay, Pine Valley, Potrero, and Tecate)
Teresa Greenhalgh
619-206-2358
TGatSDRCERT@gmail.com

San Diego (City) 
Carie DeMarco
619-533-4353
cdemarco@sandiego.gov

San Marcos
Jason Barrett
760-744-1050 x3405
jbarrett@san-marcos.net

San Miguel 
(Bostonia, Casa De Oro, Crest, Grossmont/Mt. Helix, La Presa, Rancho San Diego, Spring Valley, and unincorporated areas of El Cajon and La Mesa)
Mike Good
619-670-0500
CERT-smg@sanmiguelfire.org

Santee
Michelle Trottier
619-258-4100 x183
mtrottier@cityofsanteeca.gov

Solana Beach 
Eric Philips
858-720-2410
ephillips@cosb.org

Valley Center
Gary Asbury
760-751-7600
toltec234@aol.com
Vista Ned Vander Pol
760-310-0217
nvanderpol@cityofvista.com

Warner Springs 
Chris Gilmore
760-782-3560
mvu.warnersprings@fire.ca.govGo to page top 
Important Documents:State of California DSW Program GuidanceSan Diego County CERT Council Code of ConductSan Diego County CERT Activation ProceduresSan Diego County CERT MAP – ICS 201San Diego County CERT MAP – ICS 202San Diego County CERT MAP – ICS 214
Regional CERT Calendar:CALENDAR: ReadySanDiego.org/get_involved/cert-calendar/